Force? What Force?

Jedi Knights demand Britain’s fourth largest ‘religion’ receives recognition. Well, isn’t that just great. That was the headline. Here is the quote:

With their vast intergalactic knowledge and ability to harness the Force, the task of convincing UN officials to recognise their cause should be a walkover for a pair of Jedi Knights

Ugh. Jedi knights and their confused black-and-white, Corporate v. Monarchy, Moral Magic, “Creation Science” thinking!

It’s too much to ask, I know, but, oh for a world without any more proponents of the Force cult! Honestly, they’re telling me that the best Yoda could do was lift an X-Wing out of the water!

Um, that’s it?? That is the great power in the Universe?

You do know that “…these aren’t the droids you are looking for” isn’t exactly an example of revolutionary psychological manipulation. Water to wine, flying horses over Jerusalem, raising the dead (temporarily). These are all nice tricks, but not really that useful. Nor are they terribly impressive after we’ve seen them once or twice. Personally, I’d like to see some amputees healed, thanks very much. Malaria eradicated. That would hold my attention.

I’ll concede that, yes, they make decent pilots. They can swing a sword, but I don’t see Jedis out there really supporting revolutions in a meaningful way or speaking out for representative democracy or being great proponents of education. They seem to be all about status quo and standing behind “good” kings — their own definition of “good”, of course, and “kings” nevertheless.

Just between you and me, I think that the likes of Yoda and Skywalker and Vader, et al, fought mainly to defend their precarious positions in the community — as institutional religious figures. Job insecurity, you know? They backed monarchy or Empire to keep their respective power bases.

Yes. I know. “Conspiracy thinking”.

Well, I can’t help it. The older I get, the more I find that I despise Jedis and the ridiculous Force they pretend to represent.

